I’m loaded.
It’s official.
I’m the 55,146,441 richest person on earth!
How rich are you? >>

The above table puts me in the top 1% of the richest persons in the world. By the [global] world’s standards, I am wealthy, but by American (and the West’s) standards, I am middle-class.

Perhaps some balance is in order, no?

Some financial perspective is in order to the PFblog community.

Including me.

Especially me.

John Piper calls belivers in Christ to “Don’t Waste Your Life” (sermon) (chp 1-2 | 3-5 | 6-8 | 9-10). Don’t waste your life and resources and time and energy and passion amassing wealth that will not matter. Don’t waste your life on ANYTHING that does not matter.

What does matter then? Answer: the Kingdom of God. Fleshed-out individually for each man, woman and child by question one of the Westminster Shorter Catechism:

Q1: What is the chief end of man?

A1: Man’s chief end is to glorify God and to enjoy him forever.

The Bible states:

Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal.” Matthew 6:19-20

and concerning laying up those treasures…

“Now if anyone builds on the foundation with gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, straw—each one’s work will become manifest, for the Day will disclose it, because it will be revealed by fire, and the fire will test what sort of work each one has done. If the work that anyone has built on the foundation survives, he will receive a reward. If anyone’s work is burned up, he will suffer loss, though he himself will be saved, but only as through fire.” 1 Corinthians 3:12-15

Yes, I want to get out of debt. Yes, I want to build savings.

But at what cost?

  • My family?
  • My time?
  • The Kingdom of God?
  • The poor, helpless and defenseless?

It really boils down to motive: why do I want to get my financial house in order?

And that is the question…

