Giving you $.02 for your 2 cents
Problogger has suggested techniques to get more comments on a blog; the short list is:

  • Invite comments
  • Ask questions
  • Be open ended
  • Interact with comments left
  • Set boundaries
  • Be humble
  • Be gracious
  • Be controversial?
  • ‘Reward’ comments
  • Make it easy to comment

Jakob Neilsen suggests that of the traffic to any website:

“90% of users are lurkers who never contribute, 9% of users contribute a little, and 1% of users account for almost all the action.”

My stats thus far would sound a loud “here, here” with both problogger and Mr. Nielsen.

Of course, I believe that good content will solict and encourage good commentary. Of all of the techniques, the issue of reward intrigues me most–and thus this post.

FULL DISCLOSURE: This is an attempt to increase not only just traffic, but rich activity to this blog experience. Even though this blog is primarily for my purposes, it is a much more rich and fulfilling experience with quality dialog.

I will start rewarding comments to this blog by emailing them $.02 via Paypal that meet the following Terms and Conditions set forth:

  1. Adhere to Folleyball Comment Policy.
  2. Comment must be original and relevant. ‘Original and relevant’ is at the sole discretion of this fool. (A comment such as “Nice post” though appreciated, will not earn you $.02).
  3. Trackbacks count as comments. In fact, they are even better!
  4. Payout will be limited to one (1) payout per one (1) poster per one (1) day. Each person posting will receive no more than $.02 per day, but every person posting according to these Terms and Conditions will receive $.02 per day. (Again, I encourage as many comments by as many people per day. Please comment multiple times to multiple posts per day, but each person shall receive only one payout of $.02 per day).
  5. This is not a contract: it is my blog, I may suspend or stop payout at any time at my discretion (usually relating to my budget), but will make good on approved comments.
  6. You must include you email address (let the poster beware [of spambots]) to receive your funds. I will never rent, sell, or give your email address at any time, but I will not be responsible for any spam you receive as a result of leaving your email address herein. Be creative in how you mask your email address (see top, right of page for an example of my email address).
  7. You must be able to accept Paypal. I will only send money via Paypal.
  8. Your comments must be in English. I speak no other language…except for maybe toddler.
  9. This is on the honor system. You trust that I will make good on my word and pay up, and I trust that you will only use one identity (email address) per one physical person. I will post, on a regular basis from time to time, my payout and the payment(s) to top posters.
  10. This is a living experiment. I have the right to add, modify, or delete to these Terms and Conditions at any time. If any changes are made, I will edit THIS post and modify the timestamp so it appears at the top of the blog.
  11. Acceptance of Payment. Should you not accept the payment within 30 days, I reserve the right to rescind it (added 11/15/2006).

I know, I know. Is being paid $.02 worth your time to leave a comment? Maybe not. But if you are already a “lurker” this is my way to encourage more active participation; if you are already here, leave a comment! Tell your friends and neighbors, blog about what I am doing with this entry on your blog.

Let me know what you think.

Get ready, get set…GO!

