Valiant WarriorMy son, Eeyore, loves to fight.

Now by fight, I don’t actually mean fight, like rough-n-tumble-come-home-scraped-and-bruised but-not-worse-than-the-other-guy but-mommas-not-gonna-be-happy fight (can-I-hypenate-like-that?).

Not yet, anyway. He lives to right the wrong, fight the good fight; justice must be served.

You see, he loves to fight “the bad guys.” They are all around; you just need to look with “hero eyes.” They kidnap princesses, are in cahoots with nasty dragons, have an insatiable lust for power, usually have bad breath, and wear black hats. A boy must train for years just to be ready for his time to fight. I love it. I love it that my son wants to protect his sisters (although sometimes, its a sister need’n battlin’). My son loves watching Star Wars, hearing stories of knights, and soldiers, wars and jousting, damsels-in-distress and heros on white stallions. Man, he eats this stuff up.

But it is not just him. When all of his friends get together, they come ‘a packin’, boy! Soldiers come from across the street with brown paper grocery bags full of “real” weapons like light sabres, pistols, and waterguns. Then out come the weapons of “deep magic” like wiffleball bats, long sticks, and whatever else a boy can find to use for battle. Heck, once a few years ago, I caught my son firing shots at his sworn enemy with one of his sister’s pink, plastic, play hair dryer. Anything not secured may be appropriated; no budget hearings necessary, no sir!

Whether its Jedi v. Siths, cowboys v. indians, or army v. …bad-guy army we are constantly in the midst of war. Shoot, last year we got him the Lion and Cross Shields and Swords Set from Vision Forum.

  • Justice
  • Righteousness
  • Honor
  • Protection for the weak

I don’t need to teach him these concepts; the LORD has firmly implanted them in his soul. In the Five Aspects of Man, William Mouser espouses

“Savior, Created (Genesis 3): Man is created to war sacrificially against evil and injustice until they are vanquished.”

I need to steer him to vanquish injustice in a biblical manner (I don’t mean temper his passion; that is the last thing that I want to do).

One day, I will introduce him to some great literature like G.A. Henty, but for now I have started to teach him the game of chess, then we will read [more & more] great stories, he will learn logic and debate; he will exercise his mind, body, and spirit. I will continue to wrestle him on the floor all over the house (that is, until he is strong enough to beat me, or momma makes us stop for fear of upsetting the home).

One day, he may fight injustice behind a pulpit, on a mission field, in a court room, or actually on a battlefield.

But for now, we will allow him to war tirelessly with plastic guns and wooden swords, and, I pray, teach him:

“Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one. You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.”

Deuteronomy 6:4-9

That is how I plan to raise my boy.

