I feel that if I write *nothing* about 9/11 today, the sheer empti-ness and lack of a post concerning one of the greatest national tragedies of my time it would appear that I don’t care. That’s not true. It impacted me; how could it not? The truth is, I could write about my personal experience-here in mid-America-but somehow, that wouldn’t seem to help any.

Yes, I remember the day’s events vividly. I remember where I was, what I did, and what I thought. So many people have, people who were personally affected, have already written so much, so well (see here, here, or here). I neither know anyone in NYC, DC, or rural Pennsylvania at the time of the attacks, nor anyone who knew anyone. I guess in a twisted “six degrees” sort of way a link could be found, but what would that prove?

9/11 is personal, but it is also national. The events of that day will forever be seared into the consciousness of America: civillians were blatently attacked, on our own soil, going about our own business. We were not attacked because of anything we did, but because of who we are. Scary, huh? If it was something we have done, we could apologize, make reparations, and seek restitution. But it is not about that, not at all. You can’t change who you are. Now, I had never considered myself a patriot; Jesus is my King, and my only allegiance is to Him.

But, did not the LORD say (Romans 13):

“Let every person be subject to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and those that exist have been instituted by God.

Therefore whoever resists the authorities resists what God has appointed, and those who resist will incur judgment.

For rulers are not a terror to good conduct, but to bad. Would you have no fear of the one who is in authority? Then do what is good, and you will receive his approval,

for he is God’s servant for your good. But if you do wrong, be afraid, for he does not bear the sword in vain. For he is the servant of God, an avenger who carries out God’s wrath on the wrongdoer.

Therefore one must be in subjection, not only to avoid God’s wrath but also for the sake of conscience.”

One thing that 9/11 did wake me up to is that authorities have been instituted by God. My subjection to my government, within biblical bounds, is worship to my King Jesus. Therefore, being a patriot, and being for authorities pursuing justice, peace, mercy, and righteousness is worship. Not to my authorities, but to my Authority.

