The World has been volleying over its “wisdom” for some time. Relentlessly. Over and over. If you don’t agree, you are a fool. Don’t believe me? Turn on the news, open a newspaper, watch a movie, talk to someone…anyone. Go to some churches (ouch). The World has infiltrated the Church, and many are “asleep in the light.” Many in church [buildings] are not in the [Universal] Church, so why would they care?

What is the greatest wisdom the World is foisting on us? “Jesus is not the son of God,” it says.

WRONG! Well, I will be one of many to volley back. Call me a “fool”; I’ll wear it as a badge of honor. According to 1 Corinthians 1:21-25 the World’s “wisdom” is not so wise:

For since, in the wisdom of God, the world did not know God through wisdom, it pleased God through the folly of what we preach to save those who believe. For Jews demand signs and Greeks seek wisdom, but we preach Christ crucified, a stumbling block to Jews and folly to Gentiles, but to those who are called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God. For the foolishness of God is wiser than men, and the weakness of God is stronger than men.

Accordingly, I am a fool.

  • Definition: fol‧ley‧ball [fol-ee-bawl];noun-a game for two teams in which the object is to keep truth in motion, from side to side over a high net, by striking it with the hands before it touches the ground.

The World has stated its case. Over and over. Louder and louder. Again. It keeps batting over wisdom. This is my attempt to join the team against the World. When the World serves up wisdom, sometimes, maybe I will bump just to keep the game alive; sometimes, maybe I will set up one of my team mates for the kill; sometimes, just maybe I will get to spike the ball myself. Othertimes, maybe I will just be on the sidelines, cheering on my team. Or maybe just jeering on the World. I will not sit by and observe; I will participate.

BTW, as I said, the primary “ball” is about Jesus. But that is not the only one. The issue of who is Jesus is primary in importance and focus.

There are others; there always will be others.

foolarch at gmail dot com

